Long Beach Happy Tuna Salad

When I first went vegan, one of the things that frustrated me was how complicated it seemed to make the simplest meal. Everything seemed to require a great deal of planning and preparation! Gone were the days, I thought, of the simple and satisfying tuna sandwich!  Then one day in Long Beach, I tried a fabulous vegetarian restaurant called Steamed, which boasted vegan, raw and gluten free options, all organic and locally produced. There I tried the “Happy Tuna Wrap”. I was charmed instantly, and had to try my hand at recreating it. After a few attempts, I mastered it to my liking and it has become a staple of my lunchtime diet. It can be used in wraps, salads, sandwiches or as tasty dip for corn chips,  (most often favored in my house). Here is the recipe – quick, healthy and delicious!

ing

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Serves 1-2

Ingredients:

1 Can of Organic Garbanzo Beans, rinsed and drained

2 TBS of Organic Vegan Mayonnaise

1-2 TBS of Organic Sweet Pickle Relish

1 TSP (heaping) of Dijon Mustard

1 TSP Organic Apple Cider Vinegar

Salt/Pepper to taste

Optional:

1 TBS Minced Organic Carrots

1 TSP Minced Organic Shallot

1 TBS Minced Organic Celery

1 Dash of Liquid Coconut Aminos

Suggested Toppings:

Organic Avocado

Organic Microgreen Sprouts

Organic Tomato

Instructions:

Mash Garbanzos with a metal potato masher until beans are a creamy and slightly lumpy consistency.

Sprinkle mixture with vinegar and stir with rubber spatula. Add mayo, mustard, relish, salt and pepper and mix well until blended. (Optional ingredients can be added). Spread on sandwich, wrap or place in bowl and top with desired fixings. Enjoy!

IMG_20141019_134225

Leave a Reply

